Old School

This post stems from something that happened to me over the weekend.

 

Over this past weekend, I was in Burrito Bandidos Downtown (mmmmm……………….) and I as I was sitting there waiting for my delicious Steak with all the trimmings (except green onions) Burrito to be made I was dancing and singing along to the songs being played in that establishment. So I’m sitting there jamming and playing “Word Mole” on the Berry when New Editions “If it isn’t love” starts to spin. Can we say big tune? I was jamming to the music when all of a sudden the girl that’s making my burrito looks up to her co-worker and said “Who sings this, is this Michael Jackson?”.

 

Brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr?!

 

That was a genuine, authentic Snickers “Need a moment” moment.

So as if that wasn’t already bad enough, her coworker looks up and makes the situation worse, he walks over to check the Sirius radio station preset and then says “No, it’s New Edition…. whoever that is”

Am I in the Twilight zone?

Don’t get me wrong people, I absolutely realize that not everyone is supposed to know every Artist/Group out there but c’mon folks. To me, it seems like this generation knows nothing about GOOD MUSIC. I mean let’s keep it real, there are some good songs nowadays but nothing and I mean nothing compares to some Old School music. The thing is New Edition isn’t even really “Old School” but you know what I mean. Do these people realize that majority of the songs that they sing nowadays has been sampled by music from generations past? Y’all don’t even understand, I’m an Old School girl at heart. It’s funny because I’ve gotten on many different occasions from older folks “What do you know about this music” or better yet “How do you know this song”. I mean, huh? How do I NOT know this song? The foundation of all the things we have now started from that real deal stuff.

R&B meant something. I mean, when they sang about loving a woman they SANG IT. It wasn’t just about “take your panties off” but about loving every…single…portion of that woman. From her stature to her mindstate. Are you serious right now? How could you not appreciate that. This music gets me excited, I don’t know how one can’t love it?

 

This skit from Steve Harvey is sooooo true and hilarious, take it in. It says everything that I’m trying to say.

About datchickneeks

I'm a Virgo, I love most things entertainment related. Love PHOTOGRAPHY, and Fashion.

4 responses to “Old School

  1. Special Song For You
    Black Eyed Peas – Boom Boom Pow Lyrics
    Gotta get that
    Gotta get that
    Gotta get that
    Gotta get that that that, that that
    Boom boom boom
    (Gotta get that) Boom boom boom
    (Gotta get that) Boom boom boom
    (Gotta get that) Boom boom boom
    (Gotta get that) Boom boom boom (That)
    Boom boom boom (That)
    Boom boom boom
    Boom boom boom
    [Will.i.am]
    Yo
    I got that hit that beat the block
    You can get that bass overload
    I got that rock and roll
    That future flow
    That digital spit
    Next level visual shit
    I got that (Boom boom boom)
    How the beat bang (Boom boom boom)
    [Fergie]
    I like that boom boom pow
    Them chicks is jackin my style
    They try to copy my swagger
    I’m on that next shit now
    Im so 3008
    You so 2000 and late
    I got that boom boom boom
    That future boom boom boom
    Let me get it now
    Boom boom boom
    (Gotta get that) Boom boom boom
    (Gotta get that) Boom boom boom
    (Gotta get that) Boom boom boom
    (Gotta get that) Boom boom boom (That)
    Boom boom boom (Yeah)
    Boom boom boom
    Boom boom boom
    [Taboo]
    Im on that supersonic boom
    Ya’ll hear that spaceship zoom
    When when I step inside the room them girls go ape-shit , uh
    Y’all stuck on super A-Shit
    That low-fi stupid a bit
    Im on that HD flat
    This beat go boom boom pow
    [Apl.de.ap]
    Im a beast when you turn me on
    Into the future cybertron
    Harder, faster, better, stronger
    Makes them ladies extra longer, cuz
    We got the beat that bounce
    We got the beat that pow
    We got the beat that 808
    That the boom boom in your town
    [Fergie]
    People in the place
    If you wanna get down
    Put your hands in the air
    Will.i.am drop the beat now
    [Will.i.am]
    Yep yep
    I be rockin the beats (Yep, yep)
    I be rockin the beats (Yep yep yep, yep)
    Uh-uh
    Here we go, here we go
    Satellite radio
    Yall getting hit with (Boom boom)
    Beats so big Im steppin on leprechauns
    Shitin on yall you with the (Boom boom)
    Shitin on yall you with the (Boom boom)
    Shitin on yall you with the…
    This beat be bumpin bumpin
    This beat go boom boom
    Let the beat rock
    Let the beat rock
    Let the beat rock
    This beat be bumpin bumpin
    This beat go boom boom
    [Fergie]
    I like that boom boom pow
    Them chick is jackin my style
    They try copy my swagger
    Im on that next shit now
    Im so 3008
    You so 2000 and late
    I got that boom boom boom
    That future boom boom boom
    Let me get it now
    Boom boom boom
    (Gotta get that) Boom boom boom
    (Gotta get that) Boom boom boom
    (Gotta get that) Boom boom boom
    (Gotta get that) Boom boom boom (Yeah)
    Boom boom boom (Yeah)
    Boom boom boom
    Boom boom boom
    Let the beat rock (Let the beat rock)
    Let the beat rock (Let the beat…)
    Let the beat r… (Let the beat rock, rock, rock, rock)

  2. *Blank Stare*

    I’m hoping that was a joke

  3. *Blank Stare x2*

    LMAO… If you ain’t ol’ skool, you ain’t SHIT!!

    *DEAD* @ “Brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr?!
    That was a genuine, authentic Snickers “Need a moment” moment.” — HILARIOUS!

  4. ummm. that was STR8 wackness… someone needs a life and box on their nose bridge.
    anyways…
    Big Chune…..Neeks….Some people don’t know what good music is…
    they need to chill out a bit….sit on a curb and have a freezie with that one…
    whose post lyrics??? as a comment….a real idiot!

    torontofresh.com
    BITCCCHHHHHHH!

Leave a Reply

