One in a Million

Good morning folks,

 

It seems like it’s been awhile, I haven’t been in the mood for certain reasons but I couldn’t NOT post today.

Today marks 8 years since Miss Aaliyah Dana Haughton passed away 😦   I know some of you probably don’t care but I know enough of you do. I loved Aaliyah, she had a special presence to her. I will be the first to admit she wasnt the BEST singer (c’mon guys keep it real) but she was good and she was a wicked dancer. She had a crazy swagger to her too. She was a beautiful woman on the outside and she seemed just as on the inside.

I remember when I found out of her death, I was in my room listening to the radio (the ages, before iPods and all of that lol) and the radio host announced she died in a violent plane crash. I thought it was a cruel joke, but I kept listening. The serious tone in their voice and the details behind it made me realize it really wasn’t a laughing matter. I immediately started to cry, yes I will say it. It’s funny, you never really think you’ll react the way that you do in certain situations until it actually happens. Music means so much to me, and when I really love an artist I do just that. That was like a slap in the face, wasn’t she just on tv performing? Her album “Aaliyah” was recently released so she was all over the planet doing press. That one cut me deep, it really did. I think what made it worse was the fact that there was an Access Granted for the video that she died making “Rock The Boat”. During that access granted it was kind of eerie knowing that as soon as she hopped back on that plane, she lost her life. Pretty tragic.

R.I.P Aaliyah Dana Haughton (January 16, 1979 – August 25, 2001), gone but no one has forgotten you

 

 

She killed that style

She killed that style

 

I remember this dress!

I remember this dress!

 

Love her

Love her

 

 

 

 

Honorable mention for “I Care 4 You”… oh how I love that song. I couldn’t put up all my favs though.

About datchickneeks

I'm a Virgo, I love most things entertainment related. Love PHOTOGRAPHY, and Fashion.

2 responses to “One in a Million

  1. DyNaMiCa

    Awwww I LOVE Aaliyah!!! Today is my daughter’s birthday and we were going to name her after Aaliyah. She reminds me soo much of you! I swear your her long lost twin. lol

    May she REST IN PEACE!
    (Princess of R&B)

  2. 8 years wow!! I was listening to the radio too when she passed and I was like in grade 8 or something. She pretty much trademarked the “side bangs layered” look. And her song ” the one I gave my heart to” gets me all the time 😦 but “try again” has to be my fave!!
    nice post 🙂

    ps. more fashion crimess please ahaha

Leave a Reply

