January 13th

This day was complete and utter ‘crosses’ (badluck). 

I mean seriously I don’t even like talking about it because it was so stressful. This day I went to work like any other day, with some slight differences. One of which I had a photoshoot later that evening and I was extremely sick.  Not my idea of goodtimes at all. The previous day, I called up an acquaintance of mine (who is also a photographer) to help me out. I needed a backup because I didn’t feel well enough to conduct the entire shoot and also he had lighting that would be vital to the shoot. *exhales*. Now that you have some backgrounds I’m just going to point form the rest of this because it’s too much for me to write out in paragraph form. 

  • The shoot was set for 5pm-9pm, I was set to finish work at 4pm. That would have been okay if the shoot wasn’t downtown and that I drived. Factor in those 2 things and I was going to be late, which was okay by the client as they were aware of my availability beforehand.

  

  • The assistant photographer was aware of the shoot time and it was arranged to have a ride pick him up from his house with the lighting.

  

  • Approximately 1pm, Aneka (me), gets a bbm message from the assistant photographer saying he won’t be able to make it home until 6pm. *side eye*. The shoot starts at 5pm… anyone else see a problem with that? The scheduled ride for him, WAS the client therefore it was imperative she was on time to the shoot.

  

  • At this point I begin to stress slightly because I need to figure out an alternate ride for the photographer/lighting. Keep in mind I’m deathly sick and at work myself. This is not going well at all.

  

  • 4pm: I leave work and head to the GO Station. I arrive at 4:10pm for the 4:20pm bus. Is there any particular reason that I ended up getting on the 4:5opm bus? The 4:20 either never showed or came extremely early. I wish I could describe how cold it was that day. By the time I got on the bus, I was in tears… literally. I couldn’t feel my fingers or toes and with the already sick body I had, that definitely was not helping.

  

  • Throughout the time that I was waiting for that dreadful bus, I had to make an executive decision to pay for a cab for the assistant photog to get to the shoot. There was no other option, I needed him. The fact that he was coming from Mississauga was all the more stressful.

  

  • I finally arrive downtown and start to figure out how I’m going to get to the location (I had never been there), my phone is dying. Excellent. Precisely what I need at that point. The assistant photog (let’s just call him Tom) calls me saying he doesn’t know where he’s going. At that point I’m beyond defeated so I say “don’t you have the address?” he says the taxi man doesn’t know where he’s going and doesn’t have a map. THE F*@K?! All the while he’s frustrated and speaking to me in a very rude tone. Okay, let’s bring it on back for a second. I didn’t do sh*t to you, so don’t speak to me anyhow. You have a berry, google it! I was very calm though and gave him the major intersections.

  

  • When Tom does arrive he has brought his girlfriend. Which equated to a major problem as the ride home only had 1 space. Ummm that’s nice, that was never approved by me. I express that and keep it moving. At the shoot we had issues with lighting as one of the bulbs broke on the way over. GREAT! We begin to scramble to figure out an alternative. One of the people on set chimed in that they have lighting and could try to have someone bring it over. *phew*

  

  • The shoot time was originally scheduled from 5-9pm. The hair/makeup/styling wasn’t done until approx.9:30pm. Kind of sucked, but I know that happens sometimes so I was pretty calm. My only issue was that I felt like trash and really just wanted my bed and for someone to unscrew my head from my body. However Tom and Tina (his girlfriend) we re not so calm. They were quite frustrated and continuously expressed that with me. Man oh man. For those that know me, I did so well in holding my tongue. Very well.

  

  • When the shoot finally started, Tom was so frustrated and everyone was so frustrated with him that I had no other choice but to shoot the whole thing. Have you ever been standing and felt like you just wanted to collapse? Yea, imagine that for 2 hours straight. However I made it through and I was impressed with the final product. The hair/makeup/styling was on point and I’m happy with what I shot.

  

  • The shoot finished at approx.12 am and i had no other choice but to get a cab to go home. We went outside (Tom, Tina and myself) and I hailed a cab. Here is the crucial part. I got in the cab and said “Can you take us to Mississauga, and can you get me a flat rate”. This part is extremely critical (i’m soooo mad, I had a whole paragraph written at this point and my internet messed up. F*ckkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk)

  

At this point the driver asks me how many stops and I tell him 2 stops. He calls his dispatcher and they tell him $63 dollars so he tells me $69 to incorporate the 2 stops. I ask him if he can do better so he tells me $65. FINE. I agree and put on my headphones and try to zone out and forget this horrible day I’d just had. We arrive at the 1st stop and say goodbye to Tom and Tina. Tina barely says a word to me, and for those that know Aneka….you already know I was fuming. We get to my house and give the driver $67 and begin to hop out, he says wait wait you owe me more. Do you know this asshole ran the meter and was expecting me to pay $79 dollars after he had already confirmed $65 with me? I reply “no no no, you told me $65”. What happens next really still blows my mind. He called the police on me…. 

YUP, you read correctly. This jerkoff called the cops on me. At that point gloves come off and that already stupid day just became worse. My anger level is off the meter. I get his cab number and call his company. The supervisor finally comes on the phone and to make an already long-er story short-er. The gist of what he said I have no damn way of winning this battle. He said that a driver has the right to refuse a flat rate and that they reserve the right to call the police after. I replied with “how is a customer supposed to defend themselves then, since he agreed to the flat rate”. He replied “you would have to pay upfront and get a receipt”. The hell?! Do I work for the taxi company? How on Gods green earth was I to know that?! 

As I sit in the cab waiting for the police to show up, the driver decides to add insult to injury and say “Don’t try anything smart. There is a camera at the front and we have your phone number now”. Motherf*cker are you normal? If I was going to do you anything, I would have lonnggggg done it. You telling me that to try and warn me, is not doing anything. As I sat there waiting for the cab I called him every name under the sun. Did I mention he also took out a tape recorder and started taping me? LOL. This story was so unreal to me. 

After approximately 20 minutes of waiting, I see a police car pull up. Out comes a female officer who asks me for my side of the story. I tell it short and sweet. Then it’s the drivers turn and the 1st thing out of his mouth is “she lied about the whole thing”. You guys may think I’m stupid for staying and waiting for police instead of just paying the difference since it was only 12 dollars but that was not the point. It was the principle behind it. Do not make me out to be a liar, when you are blatantly LYING. That will turn me from a sweetheart into super b*tch real easily. The officer seemed to have been believing me as she kept asking the driver “sir what do you want to have done here” and he kept dodging the question. Mind you all the while the meter is still running. Suddenly a next police car pulls up. What?! Realllllyyyy? This time 2 male drivers get out. The female officer explains to them what happened and they converse for a minute before 1 of the males comes up to me. “Ma’am heres your 2 options: Either pay the $12 difference or pay the fare at what it’s at right now (approx 90 something dollars) and go to court after to fight the difference. I suggest you just pay the 12 dollars.” I agree and take out my money and all the while I’m calling the cab driver every name under the book. My last words were “enjoy those $12 in hell b*tch”. Then I went into my house fuming. At that point, I really realized how people hurt others. I’m not even joking. This cab driver lied on everything and felt no way about it and I had no way of defending myself. 

Throughout this whole day I never felt more alone in my life. That’s why that day was the WORST day I’ve had in awhile. As I read this back, I realize it’s novel territory and I’m sure only 2 of you will actually get to this point but I felt I had to vent because lets face it… where else am I going to do that? 

You better hope we don’t meet again buddy. If any of you readers happen to get this bastard. Tell him he’s going to hell for me and then  take another cab

Asshole's ID

About datchickneeks

I'm a Virgo, I love most things entertainment related. Love PHOTOGRAPHY, and Fashion.

One response to “January 13th

  1. Lexx

    Good grief! That has to be by far the most mentally draining day I’ve heard of in a while.

Leave a Reply

